House Judiciary Committee Phase of Impeachment Hearings: What’s Next?

What's Next?

Chairman Nadler and Ranking Member Collins

Today the Judiciary Committee Hearings began, the next phase after the investigation, evidence gathering and Intelligence Committee Hearings which just ended. Now what?

After receiving the Intelligence Committee report, the Judiciary Committee is holding more hearings. The president and his counsel can attend the hearings, present their cases, respond to evidence, request additional testimony, raise objections to testimony given and cross-examine witnesses.

After all the investigations are completed, the Judiciary Committee will vote on whether there are sufficient grounds for impeachment. A simple majority would be required. The vote is likely to pass.

However, if the committee decides that impeachment is not warranted, it could recommend another action such as censure. The full House may still vote to impeach despite the recommendations of the Judiciary Committee.

The Judiciary Committee will consider and draft articles of impeachment. Each article will need to be approved by a majority of the committee. Articles reported by the Judiciary Committee will be considered on the House floor. The length of debate will be controlled by the Democrats.

The House will debate and then vote on articles of impeachment. A simple majority would be required to pass. The House may vote on all the articles as a whole or each one separately. As long as one article passes, the president would be impeached. For a more complete Step-by-Step Guide, check the source:

House of Representatives, Judiciary Committee

Majority (Democrats)

Chairman Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-09) – chair of Constitution Subcommittee
Rep. Hank Johnson, Jr. (GA-04) – chair of Courts Subcommittee
Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-22)
Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37)
Rep. Cedric Richmond (LA-02)
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08)
Rep. David Cicilline (RI-01)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33)
Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-08)
Rep. Pramila Jayapal (WA-07)
Rep. Brad Schneider (IL-10)
Rep. Val Demings (FL-10)
*Rep. Lou Correa of (CA-46)
*Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-4)
*Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)
*Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)
*Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-6)
*Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)
*Rep. Joe Neguse (CO-2)
*Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-5)
*Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-9

Minority (Republicans)

Ranking Member Doug Collins (GA-09)
+Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. (WI-05)
Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Rep. Ken Buck (CO-04)
Rep. John Ratcliffe (TX-04)
Rep. Martha Roby (AL-02) – ranking member of Courts Subcommittee
Rep. Matt Gaetz (FL-01)
Rep. Mike Johnson (LA-04) – ranking member of Constitution Subcommittee
Rep. Andy Biggs (AZ-05)
Rep. John Rutherford (FL-04)
*Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14)
*Rep. Ben Cline (VA-6)
*Rep. Kelly Armstrong (N.D.-AL)
*Rep. Greg Steube (FL-17)
*Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-4)
*Rep. Debbie Lesko (AZ-8)

* Denotes new members
+ Denotes former chairman