NBA to return but with only 22 teams

  • Post author:
  • Reading time:2 mins read

The NBA’s Board of Governors approved a plan on Thursdaythat would restart the season in Orlando utilizing a 22-team format, according to the league.

Three-fourths of the 30 NBA teams must ratify the proposal.

The new plan would see 13 Western Conference teams and nine Eastern Conference teams play eight “seeding” games to determine seeds in the playoffs. Afterwards, the seven teams in each conference with the best combined records with both regular season games and seeding games would qualify for the playoffs — set to proceed the way they always have.


Sources told ESPN that the vote was 29-1, with the Portland Trail Blazers voting against the proposal.

“The Board’s approval of the restart format is a necessary step toward resuming the NBA season,” NBA commissioner Adam Silver said in a statement. “While the COVID-19 pandemic presents formidable challenges, we are hopeful of finishing the season in a safe and responsible manner based on strict protocols now being finalized with public health officials and medical experts. We also recognize that as we prepare to resume play, our society is reeling from recent tragedies of racial violence and injustice, and we will continue to work closely with our teams and players to use our collective resources and influence to address these issues in very real and concrete ways.”


The 22 teams participating are:

  • Milwaukee Bucks
  • Toronto Raptors
  • Boston Celtics
  • Miami Heat
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Brooklyn Nets
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington Wizards
  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • Denver Nuggets
  • Utah Jazz
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Houston Rockets
  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • Sacramento Kings
  • San Antonio Spurs
  • Phoenix Suns

Ms. G

Welcome back, America!