It’s 5:00 Somewhere

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its class of 2021 inductees this week, to join a list of those who shaped the history of music. In order to be inducted into the Cleveland museum, the artist or band must have recorded commercially no less than 25 years prior to their induction.

Watch the announcement in the 2:00 video below.

Jay-Z, the Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Carole King, Todd Rundgren and Tina Turner are touted as the most diverse list of inductees in the history of the organization.

The Ahmet Ertegun Award this year will go to Clarence Avant, 90, a music executive, film producer and entrepreneur who played a part in deals over the last 60 years that involved Black music talent, Black culture or civil rights.  The Musical Excellence Award will go to LL Cool J, Billy Preston and Randy Rhoads. And the Early Influence Award will go to Kraftwerk, Gil Scott Heron and Charley Patton.

More than one of these performers will be inducted for the second time. Carole King was previously inducted as a songwriter; Dave Grohl was previously inducted with the band Nirvana; and Tina Turner was previously inducted with her husband Ike.

Fans get to vote for the inductees, and in the top five of those nominees, Tina Turner won top fan vote.

The ceremony is scheduled for October 30 and will be aired on HBO.

Here’s just a couple of performances from this year’s class.

From 2009 in the Netherlands
From 1972

And since it’s Friday, and it’s 5:00 somewhere, share with us a part of your own personal music history and we’ll raise a glass to these and all of the music makers of our lives.

Cheers! Enjoy your Friday and have a great weekend!