GOP Senators Defy Trump by Advancing Foreign Aid Bill

The legislation includes $61 billion for Ukraine, $14 billion for Israel in its war against Hamas and $4.83 billion to support partners in the Indo-Pacific, including Taiwan, and deter aggression by China, and $9.15 billion in humanitarian assistance to civilians in Gaza and the West Bank, Ukraine and other conflict zones around the globe.

Politico Reports: “Donald Trump spent the weekend telling senators they should not pass more unconditional U.S. foreign aid. More than a dozen Republicans ignored him Sunday, moving forward on a bill to send $95 billion in aid to Ukraine, Israel and Taiwan.

The Senate voted 67-27 to advance the foreign aid supplemental spending billthat doesn’t include border provisions, moving it another step closer to passage. That still isn’t guaranteed, as leaders haven’t yet reached an agreement on GOP-demanded border amendments.”

Per Reuters, “Eighteen Republicans backed the legislation after Trump, the dominant Republican White House candidate, criticized the bill on social media by saying that the foreign aid should take the form of a loan. Trump also sparked exasperation at home and abroad by saying he would encourage aggression against NATO allies who do not pay their dues to the alliance.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell stumped for further aid in his Sunday floor speech, refusing to back away from his adamant support for foreign aid, particularly Ukraine, that’s highlighted a growing divide within his conference. “I know it’s become quite fashionable in some circles to disregard the global interests we have as a global power. To bemoan the responsibilities of global leadership,” McConnell said. “This is idle work for idle minds. And it has no place in the United States Senate (Politico)”

These are the 18 GOP Senators voted to send the aid:

•Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) •Bill Cassidy (R-LA) •Susan Collins (R-ME) •John Cornyn (R-TX) •Joni Ernst (R-IA) •Chuck Grassley (R-IA) •John Kennedy (R-LA) •Mitch McConnell (R-KY) •Jerry Moran (R-KS) •Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) •Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) •Mitt Romney (R-UT) •Mike Rounds (R-SD) •Dan Sullivan (R-AK) •John Thune (R-SD) •Thom Tillis (R-NC) •Roger Wicker (R-MS) •Todd Young (R-IN)