A Dozen Republicans Voted Against Congressional Gold Medals for Police Who Protected Them on Jan.6

A dozen House Republicans voted against a resolution to award three Congressional Gold Medals, one of the nation’s highest civilian honors, to the Capitol Police, the D.C. police and the Smithsonian in recognition of those who protected the U.S. Capitol when it was attacked Jan. 6.

The GOP lawmakers, who said they objected to the use of the word “insurrection” in the resolution, are: Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Andy Harris (Md.), Lance Gooden (Tex.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.), QAnon Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Louie Gohmert (Tex.), Michael Cloud (Tex.), Andrew S. Clyde (Ga.), William Steube (Fla.), Bob Good (Va.) and John Rose (Tenn.).

The resolution states: “On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists forced its way into the U.S. Capitol building and congressional office buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol Police officers.” It also says: “The desecration of the U.S. Capitol, which is the temple of our American Democracy, and the violence targeting Congress are horrors that will forever stain our Nation’s history.”

Thomas Massie (Ky.), objected to the word “temple” and “insurrection”.

Matt Gaetz (Fla.),  said something about the Smithsonian and a logroll.

The resolution passed 413-12. Roll Call

Washington Post

About Surley 724 Articles
No hell below us, Above us only sky, Get over it